The Garrison Chapel
Restored to Glory
Known as the Guards' Chapel, now home to The Prince's Foundation
The Prince's Foundation
The Prince's Foundation has established a public exhibition space at The Garrison Chapel, Chelsea Barracks, to showcase the work of the charity, its students and graduates.
A precious connection
Completed in 1859, the Grade-II listed chapel is an enduring reminder of Chelsea Barracks’ important role in British military history.
Restored & renewed
The heart of the community then and now, lovingly restored to become an art gallery and a community gathering place.
1859: construction of the Garrison Chapel is completed, as part of George Morgan’s original design for Chelsea Barracks. 1990: After 150 years as an active church, the chapel was deconsecrated. 2012: the Chapel was recognised for its uniqueness and granted Grade-II listed status. 2018: the Chapel completes an extensive refurbishment, preserving it for the next generation of the Chelsea Barracks community.
What better than a bell that will continue to sound for a millennium?George Dawson, Taylor & Co.
The cracked ceramics, commissioned to honour the soldiers of Chelsea Barracks, were carefully repaired by heritage specialists using bespoke tiles.
The jewel in the crown
The new Barracks Bell was cast by the world's largest foundry, John Taylor & Co., with over two centuries of heritage.
The restoration of the facade, has all but transformed the exterior of the Chapel, revealing brickwork that's as bright as in the early days.
For generations to come.
Let there be light
The rose window has become the emblem of Chelsea Barracks. It consists of eight intricate 'petals', each restored and more beautiful than ever.
Set in stone
The north and south windows, internal plasterwork and the entire roof have been painstakingly repaired and replaced, ready to stand the test of time.
Labour of love
The chapel is a precious symbol of the Chelsea Barracks community, then and now, lovingly restored to become a gallery and community gathering place.